You are currently viewing The Layman’s Guide to the 7 Chakras
7 Chakras vector illustration poster with yogi silhouette filled with cosmos background and colorful mandala.All 7 chakras collection with symbol icons, colors and names.Spiritual and esoteric design.

The Layman’s Guide to the 7 Chakras

As far as I can remember, I’ve always been interested in the occult. The mystical. In a group of friends, there’s one that’s always strange or weird in some way.

I was that friend.

I remember the first time that I saw a Chakra chart. I was in my early twenties, and I was drawn to Yoga. I was too broke to afford to go to Yoga classes, but curiosity led me to a bookshop and I bought a kind of ‘Yoga for dummies’ type of book, thinking that I’d teach myself the movements. The colours of the Chakras, stroked my inquisitiveness and thus my journey into an alternative way of being began.

What are the 7 chakras?

The word ‘Chakra’ (pronounced Chuk-rah) is Sanskrit for ‘wheel’. It describes the disc or wheel of energy that is found in various areas of the body. It governs more than just the endocrine system and certain organs. It connects us to our different energetic bodies, commonly known as the aura. These are energy points that support the physical, emotional, mental and spiritual bodies. When these energy points function optimally, the effects are seen in all areas of life.

Each chakra is associated with a body part and represents an area of reality as well as a Universal Law.

The Root Chakra

The root chakra is also known as Muladhara in Sanskrit which means ‘root of existence’. It is located near the base of the spine. This chakra represents our root and is associated with survival, safety, security and our relationship with money. Interestingly enough, it also represents the relationship that we have with the mother figure. The colour assigned to it is red which represents life, vitality, heat and strength.

Contrary to popular belief, the root is in fact linked to the adrenal glands and not to the sexual organs.

The Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is also known as Svadhisthana in Sanskrit which means ‘where your being is established’. It is located near the lower abdomen, about 4 centimeters away from your navel. This chakra represents our sexuality and relationship with water. It is associated with the gonads or testes in males and ovaries in females.

This chakra appears as orange which symbolizes energy, emotions, sexuality and creativity and is linked to the emotional body.

The Solar Plexus Chakra

Also known as Manipura in Sanskrit which means ‘city of jewels’ or ‘lustrous gem’. This chakra is linked to personal power, self-esteem, self-confidence, and trust within ourselves. It is located in the diaphragm area and is associated with the pancreas. It is represented by the colour yellow, which is reminiscent of intellectual thinking, optimism, willpower, and personal power.

Often when we suffer from indigestion or stomach cramps, it is because this chakra is not aligned or may be experiencing a blockage or leakage.

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is known as Anahata in Sanskrit which means ‘unstruck’. This chakra is linked to love and air. More specifically the areas around relationships, especially love relationships with self and others. It is located in the heart centre or in the centre of the chest and is depicted as green which represents healing, growth and health.

It is associated with the thymus gland which is imperative in keeping the immune system healthy. When this chakra is healthy, we will experience ourselves as loving, compassionate, altruistic and balanced.

The Throat Chakra

The throat chakra is known as Vishuddha in Sanskrit which means ‘especially pure’ and is linked to communication. It is located at the hollow of the throat and is usually shown as turquoise blue.

Fear of speaking, weak voice, shyness, difficulty voicing feelings, or inability to listen are indicators that this chakra is out of sync. When the chakra is healthy and balanced then you will have a clear and resonant voice, a good listener and have the ability to articulate feelings, opinions and emotions clearly.

The throat chakra is linked to the Etheric Template Aura.

The Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra is known as Ajna in Sanskrit which means ‘beyond wisdom’. It is located in the middle of the forehead between the brows. It is linked to intuition and the metaphysical and is associated with the colour indigo. Indigo is linked to spiritual power and telepathy.

The third eye is linked to the pituitary gland which is responsible for growth and development. When the third eye chakra is aligned the individual is intuitive, imaginative, has good memory and is perceptive.

When the third eye is out of sync, the individual experiences hallucinations, delusions, headaches, vision problems or difficulty concentrating.

The Crown Chakra

The crown chakra is known as Sahasrara in Sanskrit which means ‘thousand petals’. It is located at the top of the head and oversees the pineal gland and is linked to cognition, awareness and thought and the colour violet. Violet is associated with a higher consciousness, spirituality and independence.

Some of the physical malfunctions that can be experienced when this chakra is out of sync are brain tumours, mental disorders, migraines, sleep disorders and amnesia.

When the crown chakra is aligned the individual will be open minded, have a high degree of intelligence, be spiritually connected and perceptive.

Keeping the chakras balanced ensures that the individual functions optimally in all areas of life. A few ways to do this is by eating fruit or vegetables that correspond to the associated colour of the chakra, practicing Yoga, Qigong, Reiki or other energy balancing exercises. This requires commitment and the intention and courage to uncover self-limiting beliefs which is of course, part of the Hero’s journey.

Yogi Cameron, 8 October 2020, A Beginner’s Guide To The 7 Chakras

Accessed 5 May 2021,

Carol Tuttle, What Are the Chakra Colors and Their Meanings?

Accessed 11 May 2021,

Leave a Reply